In every state in the United States including Florida, it is illegal to drive while impaired by the effects of alcohol and drugs, including prescribed medications. Generally, you are considered “intoxicated” if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) contains 0.08 or higher.
What happens if you were arrested and charged with Driving Under the Influence? Will it affect your future life and employment? Should you need to hire the best and most expensive DUI attorney? First of all, you have to understand what DUI means in Florida, including its consequences.
What is DUI?
If this is your first conviction, the fine will be between $500 to $2,000. Whereas, if you have a minor in the vehicle or your blood alcohol level is 0.15 or greater, you will be fined from $2,000 to $4,000. You’ll also need to serve a mandatory 50-hour community service or an additional $10-fine for each hour of required community service.
For the total probation and incarceration, it should not take more than a year. Now, let’s look at your potential imprisonment. Imprisonment depends on the court’s discretion. This may be served at a drug abuse treatment program or a residential alcoholism, which takes not more than 6 months. However, if your blood alcohol level is 0.15 or higher or there was a minor in your vehicle during your arrest, you will serve for not more than 9 months. Along all of these is the possibility of the suspension or revocation of your Florida driver’s license.
What if it is your 2nd, 3rd, 4th, or other DUI conviction? There are many reasons why you should hire a lawyer, who specializes in drunk driving offenses. But you must look for the right and experienced one, not just a drunk driving lawyer who promises to get you out of your charges, and then charges you with a huge amount.
When a DUI incident involves serious injuries to another individual, there will be more severe consequences. Under the Florida statute, you can be charged with a third-degree felony, which could result in as long as 5-year imprisonment. In this case, what is the definition of a serious injury? Under the state’s law, these could be:
- An injury that poses the risk of the victim’s death
- Loss or impairment of the function of an organ or body part
Serious injuries caused by DUI involves complex issues that need to be addressed immediately, and hiring an experienced traffic ticket lawyer is the best decision you will ever make. If you think that this will cost you more, this may be a risky idea. You don’t need to feel hopeless and face this all alone. With our team of skilled and experienced lawyers, we work hard towards the best possible outcome. We are not just your lawyers, but also your advisor and confidant during these challenging times.
Though we are not cheap, we make sure that our top-quality services are affordable. We are here 24 hours a day to receive your calls, whatever your questions may be in connection with your case.
What can our DUI defense lawyers do for you?
Because your future and freedom are at stake at this point, we need to thoroughly examine and investigate your case as quickly as possible because early intervention is significant. We care about your future, so here are what we would do:
We will be finding evidence that presents the accident in a more favorable case.
We will check the evidence against you to look for possible inaccuracies.
We will possibly file a Pretrial Motion to Suppress, which can reject certain evidence that could potentially lead to the dismissal of the case.
We will build a defense against your charges or negotiate a plea to reduce the charges.
We will ensure to protect your rights throughout the process.
DUI Manslaughter Attorney
What does DUI manslaughter mean in Florida?
Under the state’s statute, you can be found guilty of DUI manslaughter in the following circumstances:
- If you were driving a motor vehicle while your normal faculties were impaired by alcohol or drugs.
- Your BAC is 0.0.8 or higher.
In some instances, you can also be charged with DUI manslaughter even if your BAC is lower than 0.08 if the victim’s lawyer proves in court that your ability to operate the vehicle was impaired at the time of the accident, which resulted in death. Also, note that courts can prosecute you for DUI manslaughter for the death of an unborn fetus. For example, if a pregnant woman dies, you could be faced with two counts of DUI manslaughter.
In this situation, the more you need a tenacious DUI criminal lawyer who will fight for you until the end. Call us now for a free consultation, so we will start working on your case right away!
Penalties for DUI manslaughter in Florida
If your lawyer was not able to defend you in courts, here are the penalties you could be facing:
- If you are convicted with a second-degree felony, you will be facing 4-15 years in prison, along with a $10,000 fine.
- If you are convicted with a third-degree felony, you will be facing 4-30 years in prison, along with a $10,000 fine.
Get In Touch
Miami DUI Lawyer Group
1767 Northwest 79th Avenue
Miami, FL 33126